Governor list of Reserve Bank in India

Reserve Bank Governor list:


The Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the chief executive of India’s central bank and the ex-officio chairperson of its Central Board of Directors. Indian Rupee currency notes, issued by the RBI, bear the governor’s signature.

Sir Oshorne Smith1935 to 1937
Sir James Taylor1937 to 1943
Sir C.D. Deshmukh1943 to 1949
Sir Benegal Rama Rau1949 to 1957
K.G.Ambegaonkar1957 to 1957
H.V.R.Lengar1957 to 1962
P.C.Bhattacharya1962 to 1967
L.K.Jha1967 to 1970
B.N.Adarkar1970 to 1970
S.Jagannathan1970 to 1975
N.C.Sen Gupta1975 to 1975
K.R.Puri1975 to 1977
M.Narasimham"1977 to 1977
Dr.I.G. Patel1977 to 1982
Dr.Manmohan Singh1982 to 1985
A.Ghosh1985 to 1985
R.N.Malhotra1985 to 1990
S.Venkitaramanan1990 to 1992
Dr.C.Rangarajan1992 to 1997
Dr.Bimal Jalan1997 to 2003
Dr.Y.V. Reddy2003 to 2008
Dr.D. Subba Rao2008 to 2013
Raghuram Rajan2013 to Till Date

Translate »